Committee Chairs to change

A review into council’s standing committees has resulted in changing the make-up of two existing committees.

Councillor Kevin Casey will be replaced by Cr Fran Mann as Chair of the Community Engagement Standing Committee, while Cr Justin Englert takes on the role of Deputy Chair from Cr Laurence Bonaventura.

The new chair of the Corporate Services Standing Committee’s will be Cr Ayril Paton, replacing Cr Ross Walker. Deputy chair Cr Karen May will remain in the role.

Mayor Greg Williamson said the changes were aimed at giving first-term councillors critical experience.

“We’re a passionate and committed group of councillors and these changes will help reinvigorate the two committees moving forward,” he said.

“The changes in no way reflect the performance of the previous chairs, it’s an opportunity for some councillors to gain experience and exposure to meeting procedures and protocols,” he said.

Cr Williamson said two new Advisory Committees would also be established.

“At our monthly Council in Community meetings, we’ve received important feedback on a number of key areas, such as sport and social community needs.”

The Sport and Recreation Advisory Committee, chaired by Cr Ross Gee, will be the conduit to council on current and emerging sports and recreation issues across the region.

The Mackay Region Communities Advisory Committee, chaired by Cr Laurence Bonaventura, will provide advice on social and community planning needs and identify opportunities in the rural areas of the region.

The two committees do not have any delegated powers or decision making ability; however recommendations are presented to their applicable Standing Committee or Ordinary meeting for a decision.

Contact: Mackay Regional Council

Phone: 1300 MACKAY (622 529)

Published: 22 Feb 2017