Disaster management

Local Disaster Management Group

emergency-group2Council proactively plans to reduce the impact on the community from disaster events such as cyclones, storm surges, floods, bushfires, tsunamis, earthquakes, etc. The Disaster Management Act 2003 sets out the responsibilities of Local Governments during disasters.

A Local Disaster Management Group, chaired by the Mayor manages and coordinates local and acquired external resources required to provide assistance to the community in response to an event. Council has prepared a Local Disaster Management Plan in accordance with the Disaster Management Act - 2003 and Operational Plans for use in the event of a disaster.

Mackay Local Disaster Management Group

The Local Disaster Management Group comprises a number of representatives from Council and local agencies.

The group meets five (5) times a year and as required during the cyclone season, and includes the membership below:

Permanent Members:

  • Chairperson - Mayor
  • Deputy Chairperson - Deputy Mayor
  • Councillor - Deputy Chairperson Mackay Local Recovery Group
  • Local Disaster Coordinator - MRC Director Engineering Services
  • Deputy Local Disaster Coordinator - MRC Chief Executive Officer
  • Deputy Local Disaster Coordinator - MRC Director Corporate Services
  • Assistant Local Disaster Coordinator - MRC Emergency Management Coordinator
  • Assistant Local Disaster Coordinator - MRC Technical Officer - Emergency Management
  • MRC Manager Corporate Communications
  • MRC State Emergency Service Local Controller
  • Queensland Ambulance Service
  • Queensland Fire & Rescue Service
  • Queensland Police Service
  • Emergency Management Queensland
  • Australian Red Cross

Advisory Members:

  • MRC Water and Waste 
  • MRC Community Development 
  • Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services
  • Ergon Energy
  • Department of Education,Training
  • Mackay Airport
  • North Queensland Primary Health Network
  • North Queensland Bulk Ports
  • Queensland Health
  • Queensland Fire & Rescue Service - Rural Operations
  • Sunwater
  • Telstra
  • The Salvation Army
  • Transport and Main Roads


  • Airservices Australia
  • QR National
  • MRC Governance
  • RACQ CQ Rescue

Local Disaster Management Group 2018 meetings:

  • February 19, 2018
  • May 14, 2018
  • August 6, 2018
  • September 3, 2018
  • October 15, 2018
  • December 3, 2018

if you wish to have copies of the minutes from the LDMG meetings you can contact the Client Service Centre for a copy on 1300 MACKAY (622 529)

Operational Plans

A number of working groups have been formed to oversee the formation and review of the Disaster Management Plan together with the associated operational plans for:

  • Activation of the Local Disaster Management Group
  • Disaster Coordination Centre
  • Financial management
  • Community support
  • Evacuation centre management
  • Impact assessment
  • Logistics
  • Medical services
  • Public health
  • Public information and warnings
  • Public works and engineering
  • Rescue
  • Resupply operations
  • Transport

Emergency Management Section

Council funds a full-time Emergency Management Section, consisting of an Emergency Management Coordinator, Technical Officer - Emergency Management and State Emergency Service Local Controller, to coordinate the areas of planning, community education, staff training, disaster management and disaster risk management.

Disaster Response Levy

Council has adopted a Disaster Response Levy ($12.80 per annum - 2017/18) which is levied against all rateable assessments to ensure that Council has the capability to meet its obligations in times of natural disaster.

Examples of areas in which the levy may provide funding are:-

  • Upgrading facilities utilised during times of natural disaster; and
  • Contributing to the cost of the SES and Emergency Management Team and the development and implementation of an Emergency Risk Plans for the area.

ses-1State Emergency Service

As part of the Disaster Management Act 2003, Councils and Emergency Management Queensland are jointly responsible for providing and sponsoring volunteer State Emergency Service units, with some State Government financial assistance.

Council employs a fulltime local controller and supplies storage and operational equipment such as vehicles, flood boats, trailers, chainsaws, generators, lighting and safety equipment.

ses-logo1Council is committed to providing upgraded facilities and additional capital equipment via funding available from the Disaster Response Levy.

There are 9 SES volunteer groups in the region located at:

  • Mackay
  • Calen
  • Midge Point
  • Mirani
  • Finch Hatton
  • Sarina
  • Armstrongs Beach
  • Sarina/Campwin Beach
  • Koumala

For emergency assistance telephone 132 500.

For further information on how to join the State Emergency Service, contact the Local Controller on 0409 894 721 or visit www.ses.qld.gov.au