Mackay Regional Council Christmas Closures

Published: 23 Nov 2022

Residents are being reminded about the following council facility closures over the Christmas-New Year holiday period.

Call Centre 1300 MACKAY (622 529)

Council’s local call centre will close Saturday, December 24, to Monday, January 2 (inclusive) with an after-hours service operating during this time for emergency calls. For non-urgent requests and payments, visit www.mackay.qld.gov.au/request

Customer Service Centres

Mackay
Closed 4pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 9am, Tuesday, January 3

Mirani
Closed 4pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 9am, Monday, January 9

Sarina
Closed 4pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 9am, Monday, January 9

Artspace Mackay

Closed Saturday, December 24, 2022, to Monday, January 2, 2023
Reopening 10am, Tuesday, January 3

Aquatic facilities

Mackay ARC

Closed Sunday, December 25

Bluewater Lagoon

Open every day from 9am to 5.45pm
Closed Saturday, December 25

Memorial Swim Centre

Sunday, December 25 - Closed
Monday, December 26 - Closed
Sunday, January 1 - Closed

Pioneer Swim Centre

Sunday, December 25 - Closed
Monday, December 26 - Closed
Sunday, January 1 - Closed

Mirani Swim Centre

Sunday, December 25 - Closed
Monday, December 26 - Closed
Sunday, January 1 – Closed

Sarina Pool

Sunday, December 25 - Closed
Monday, December 26 - Closed
Sunday, January 1 - Closed

Foodspace

Closed 2pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 8am, Monday, January 9

Jubilee Community Centre

Closed 4.30pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 8.30am, Tuesday, January 3

Ken Burgess Orchid House

Closed 2pm, Sunday, December 18
Reopening 10am, Sunday, January 8

Mackay Entertainment and Convention Centre Box Office

Closed 3pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 9am, Monday, January 9
Tickets for shows and events can be purchased online via themecc.com.au during this time.

Mackay Regional Botanic Gardens

Administration and Tropical Shade Garden

Closed 4pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 9am, Tuesday, January 3

Botanic Gardens Café and Lagoons Gallery

Closed from Sunday, December 18 at 3pm.
Reopening Wednesday, January 11 at 9am

Mackay Regional Council Libraries

Closed 5pm, Friday, December 23.
All libraries will re-open as normal from Tuesday, January 3.

Museums and Historical Centres

Greenmount Homestead

Closed COB Sunday, November 27, 2022, reopening Monday, March 20, 2023

Mackay Museum

Closed COB Saturday, November 26, 2022, reopening Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Sarina Museum

Closed COB Friday, November 25, 2022, reopening Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Pioneer Valley Museum

Closed COB Saturday, November 26, 2022, reopening Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Sarina Neighbourhood Centre

Closed Friday, December 23 from 3pm, reopening Tuesday, January 3, from 9am

Sarina Sugar Shed

Open seven days a week, 9am to 4pm.
Closed from Saturday, December 25, reopening Wednesday, December 28, from 9am
Closed Sunday, January 1, reopening Tuesday, January 3, from 9am

Sarina Youth Centre

Closed 2pm, Friday, December 23
Reopening 10am, Tuesday, January 3

Waste Facilities

Council’s waste facilities will only close for Christmas Day, except for Paget Waste Management Centre, which will be open for limited hours on Christmas Day from 6.15am to noon.

Waste collection services will continue to run routine pick-ups during the Christmas holiday period. Residents are reminded to leave their wheelie bins out as normal.

Incredable Ltd (Resource Recovery Facility – drop-off) will be closed from Saturday, December 24 until Thursday, January 5, 2023 (inclusive), reopening Friday, January 6, at 9am